Archbold, OH

Voters To Decide Contested Races, Money Issues In Nov. 6 Election

Four Archbold men are running for three seats on Archbold Village Council in the Nov. 6 general election.

Seeking reelection to council are Edward Leininger and Kevin Morton. Also running for council are Vaughn Bentz and Kevin Eicher.

James S. Wyse seeks another term as Archbold village mayor. He is not challenged.

Two incumbents, J. Scott Miller, Ridgeville Corners, and David K. Yoder, Archbold, seek reelection to the Archbold Local School District Board of Education.

Incumbents Thomas D. Beck and Daniel Bruner seek reelection to the Pettisville Local School District Board. Daniel Sauder, who was appointed to the board when Douglas Nofziger resigned, will be on the ballot to complete the term that ends Dec. 31, 2009.

Six residents of the Gorham- Fayette School District seek election to the district school board, including incumbents David Brinegar and Terry Kovar. Newcomers seeking board seats are Kirk Keiser and Karen Joy King. Three will be elected.

Fred Stockburger, appointed to finish the term of John Kim Winzeler, is challenged for the December 2009 term by Debra Leininger.

Anita VanZile, Fayette mayor, filed for reelection. Running for council are Michael Maginn, Rita B. Marlatt, and Eugene Rosinski. Two will be elected. Marlatt is an incumbent and Maginn was appointed to council.

Township Races

Stephen Lange and Kenneth “Skip” Leupp are running for German Township Trustee.

They seek the trustee position held by Andy King. He was appointed to the board after Joe Short, a trustee, was elected Fulton County Commissioner. The candidates have Archbold addresses and live outside the village in the township.

King, who previously served as a trustee, declined to seek election to the post.

Mari Yoder, German Township fiscal officer, is challenged by Keith E. Short. Both live in Archbold.

In Clinton Township, Larry Neuenschwander is unopposed for township trustee, as is Judy Warncke, township fiscal offi- cer. Both are incumbents and have rural Wauseon addresses.

Seeking reelection as a Franklin Township Trustee is Mark L. Ballmer. John Winzeler also seeks reelection to the township fiscal officer position. They are incumbents.

In Gorham Township, incumbents Randy Merillat, a trustee, and Michael E. Figgins, the fiscal officer, are not challenged for reelection.

Jerry L. Bates, rural Wauseon, is running for Chesterfield Township Trustee. Tina Jones, rural Fayette, is on the ballet for township fiscal officer. Both are incumbents.

Financial Issues

Among the ten financial issues on fall ballots are the renewal of the Pettisville 1% income tax, an additional .6 mill tax levy for fire protection in Franklin Township, a .5 mill replacement tax in German Township for providing and maintaining fire equipment, and a renewal of a Fayette school 7-mill levy for operating expenses.

Henry County

Voters in Ridgeville Township, Henry County, will choose between Roger Miller, the incumbent, or Robert Hesterman, the challenger, for trustee.

The township also has a race for the fiscal officer position. Virginia Miller, the incumbent, is challenged by Cheryl Bostelman.

Ridgeville Township voters will also decide whether to establish a park in the township.

A site has been proposed near the Christ Community Church, along Henry Co. Rd. X, in Ridgeville Corners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *