Archbold, OH
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Pettisville Finishes Strong At Van Wert

Both Pettisville cross country teams placed runners near the top at the 2008 Van Wert County Invitational, Saturday, Sept. 20.

In the girls race, freshman Tanner Hostetler ran to a second place finish, crossing the finish line in 19 minutes, 18 seconds.

First place went to Lei Bornhorst of Minster. She won in 19:03.

Brady Avina was the second Blackbird finisher, coming in 26th out of the 130 runners in the race. Avina’s time was 21:42.

Rachel Beck ran a 22:48 race to claim 40th. Jackie Morrill was 79th in 24:37. Taylore Lantz completed the scoring for the Birds, covering the course in 25:18 to claim 89th.

Other PHS runners: Erin Fricke, 25:59, 94th; Kayla King, 28:50, 120th.

As a team, the Blackbird girls placed eighth with 193 points. Minster won with a score of 24. Stryker was fourth with 167, and Fayette was sixth with 175.

In the boys race, Pettisville senior Austin Borton was third in 16:57. Joby Stechschulte of Minster won in 16:45, and Justin Eilerman of New Bremen placed second in 16:54.

Lincoln Frey was next in for the Blackbirds, placing 12th in 17:28. Jacob Nofziger grabbed 14th in 17:41.

Chris Matthews ran a 19:01 race for 48th. Brandon Hamilton finished the scoring for PHS; he claimed 55th in 19:11.

With 128 points, the Blackbird team placed fourth out of 16 teams. New Bremen won the meet in a close race with Minster. Both teams had offi cial scores of 57 points, and the sixth runners for each team were only one second apart. The Fayette team placed third with 109.

Other Pettisville runners: Aaron Bruner, 19:33, 65th; Trevor Lantz, 21:09, 109th; Zach Davis, 21:31, 117th.

Blackbirds Third At BBC

Both Pettisville teams placed third at the first Buckeye Border Conference Jamboree, Tuesday, Sept. 16 at Hilltop.

In the boys race, Hilltop won with a score of 39. Fayette took second with 52.

Pettisville scored 64, followed by North Central, 97; Stryker, 101; and Eden, 145.

Borton was Pettisville’s top boys runner. He finished third in 17:24. Hilltop’s Cody Livensparger won in 16:48. Stryker’s Kenny Graber was second in 17:19.

Frey came in seventh in 17:49. Nofziger claimed ninth in 17:59; Hamilton crossed the line at 19:03 to take 21st; and Matthews grabbed 24th in 19:20.

Other PHS runners: Bruner, 19:42, 29th; Harris King, 21:51, 48th; Davis, 22:18, 54th; Zach Pursel, 26:02, 59th.

Hostetler won the girls race, finishing the course in 20:21. Fayette’s Erica Goeltzenleuchter was second in 20:36.

Next in for Pettisville was Avina with a 22:04 run, good for fifth. Beck came in 13th in 23:38, and Morrill claimed 21st in 25:21. Lantz was 23rd in 25:37.

Other PHS runners: Alexa Short, 26:17, 28th; Fricke, 28:00, 33rd; King, 28:04, 35th.

Fayette won with 51 points; Stryker was second with 53. Pettisville’s team score of 59 put it third, followed by North Central, 69; Hilltop, 127; and Edon, 154.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *