Archbold, OH
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Path Clear For School Police Resource Officer

The Archbold School Board granted final approval of a memorandum of understanding with Archbold Village Council to put a police officer in the schools during its Monday, April 15 meeting.

In his address to the board, Jayson Selgo, superintendent, requested board members support the measure.

One officer will be detailed to all three school buildings, with the total cost shared between the village and the school district.

Selgo recognized Donna Dettling, village administrator, Leo Wixom III, police chief, Aaron Rex, former superintendent, and Marc Robinson, interim superintendent, for their work on the issue.

He said the two entities are on track to have a resource officer in place for the next school year, starting in August.

The board approved several personnel matters, including a new two-year contract for Christine Ziegler as district treasurer. The new contract covers the period of Aug. 1, 2020 through July 31, 2022.

Also approved: Esther Rupp, school psychologist, three-year contract, Aug. 1, 2020-July 31, 2023; Allan Gladieux, athletic director, three-year contract, Aug. 1, 2020-July 31, 2023; Lorinda Brader, school technology director, two-year contract, Aug. 1, 2020-July 31, 2022; Michele Gladieux, two oneyear supplemental contracts, one each for fall and winter cheerleading coaching, 2019- 20 school year; Brenda Beck, summer school tutor for 30- 60 hours, summer 2019.

Coaches, Laborers

Colton Soles was approved as a volunteer football coach for the 2019-20 school year.

The board rescinded a oneyear contract for Cody Ruffer as an assistant football coach. The board then granted new contracts, with Ruffer and Garrett Grime each receiving 50% of one contract.

Eight students were granted contracts as summer custodial workers: Angel Huerta, Trevor Short, Zac Rocha, Adam Walker, TJ Rice, Carson Meyer, Zeke Miller, and Jacob Beaverson.

Andrew Beck was also granted a contract as a student custodial worker for the summer. Karen Beck, board member, abstained on that vote.

Becca Gerig was granted a contract as a casual laborer for summer 2019.

Certified, Classified

The board also approved contracts for certified and classified employees as recommended by Selgo.

The board approved a twoyear contract for Zach Gericke as a certified employee. John Downey, board member, abstained on the vote. Gericke holds a master’s degree.

Cindy Clark, who holds a master’s degree, was granted a continuing contract. The contract automatically renews and does not require further board action.

Certified employees are listed with their status on the district salary schedule; classified employees are listed by job title.

Certified two-year contracts: Derrick Baska, bachelor’s degree; Krystina Bowerman, BA with 150 credit hours; Jeff Brunswick, BA- 150; Miranda Bzovi, BA; John Culler, master’s degree plus 30 credit hours; Breanna Daugherty, BA; Shelby Graber, MA plus 15 credit hours; Mindy Gruenhagen, MA; Amy Johns, BA; Crista McCabe, MA; Megan Martz, MA; Ryan Sell, MA; Miranda Sumpter, MA; Alissa Stockburger, MA; Ryan Throne, MA+15; Elizabeth Voll, MA; Megan Wiemken, MA; Joseph Williams, BA-150; Jamie Zagarela, BA.

Certified one-year contracts: Becca Gerig, BA-150; Bridget Ruffer, BA; Chelsey Smith, BA-150.

Classified two-year contracts: Jason Baun, building supervisor; Maghan Burkle, playground aide; Ryan Hicks, custodian; Tiffanie Kruse, middle school aide; Valerie Nafziger, administrative assistant; Tammy Damron, Alan Miller, bus drivers; Rachel Plassman, elementary aide; Karla Petersen, school nurse.

Classified one-year contract: Nancy Ruffer, bus driver.