Archbold, OH
Mostly sunny
Mostly sunny

No Contested Candidates In County Courthouses

There are no contested races for county offices in Fulton or Henry counties in the General Election, Tuesday, Nov. 2.

In Fulton County, Perry L. Rupp is assured election as commissioner, Brett J. Kolb will be reelected county auditor, and Paul E. McDonald will be reelected clerk of courts All were selected during the Fulton County Republican Primary in May and have no opposition on the ballot.

James E. Barber is unopposed as Fulton County Common Pleas Court judge, while Collin McQuade faces no opposition for judge of the Fulton County Court. Races for judgeships are not partisan.

In Henry County, Thomas H. VonDeylen will be elected county commissioner, and Kevin Nye, auditor. Both are Republicans.

John S. Collier is unopposed to become the Henry County Common Pleas Court judge, and Denise Herman McColley is unopposed as the Common Pleas Domestic Relations judge.

House, Senate

Steve Buehrer, Delta, is seeking reelection as state senator of Ohio District 1, which includes Fulton and Henry counties. A Republican, he is being challenged by Democrat Erik M. Cranmer.

Bruce Goodwin, Republican state representative, the incumbent, is facing a challenge from David Pilliod, a Democrat. Goodwin represents the 74th Ohio House District, which includes Fulton County.

Lynn Wachtmann, the Republican incumbent from District 75, which covers Henry County, faces Cletus Schindler, the Democratic challenger.

There is a three-way race to represent Northwest Ohio in the U.S. House of Representatives. Bob Latta, the Republican incumbent, faces Democratic challenger Caleb Finkenbiner and Libertarian party candidate Brian Smith.


Ted Strickland, Ohio governor, and Yvette McGee- Brown, lieutenant governor, Democrats, face a challenge from Republicans John Kasich for governor, and Mary Taylor for lieutenant governor.

Others running for governor lieutenant governor are Ken Matesz and Margaret Ann Leech, Libertarians, and Dennis S. Spisak and Anita Rios, Green Party.

There are four challengers for attorney general. Democrat incumbent Richard Cordray faces challenges from Mike DeWine, Republican, Marc Allan Feldman, Libertarian, and Robert Owens, Constitution Party.

With state auditor Mary Taylor seeking the lieutenant governor office, there’s a three-way race between Dave Yost, Republican; David Pepper, Democrat; and L. Michael Howard, Libertarian.

Jennifer Bruner, secretary of state, lost her bid in the Democratic primary for a chance to run for the United States Senate. The secretary of state office is now a threeway race between Maryellen O’Shaughnessy, Democrat; Jon Husted, Republican; and Charles Earl, Libertarian.

Kevin L. Boyce, a Democrat, seeks reelection as state treasurer. He faces Josh Mandel, a Republican, and Matthew P. Cantrell, a Libertarian.

There is a five-way race for a seat in the U.S. Senate to replace the retiring Republican incumbent, George Voinovich: Rob Portman, Republican; Lee Fisher, Democrat; Eric Deaton, Constitution Party; Daniel A. LaBotz, Social Party; and Michael L. Pryce, an independent.


Eric Brown faces Maureen O’Connor for chief justice of the Supreme Court, while Judith Ann Lanzinger and Mary Jane Trapp vie for one of two seats on the court.

Paul Pfeifer is unopposed for the second seat.

Fulton County is represented by the Fifth District Court of Appeals. Kelia Cosme goes against Steve A. Yarbrough for one judgeship. Mark Pietrykowski is unopposed for the other.

Henry County is represented by the Third District Court of Appeals. Richard Rogers and Stephen R. Shaw are unopposed for the two judgeships.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *