Archbold, OH
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

New Faces Coming To School Boards, Township Trustees

There will be some new faces on both the Archbold and Pettisville school boards at the beginning in 2022.

Four school board incumbents did not file nominating petitions by the Wednesday, Aug. 4 deadline.

Pettisville School Board

At Pettisville, Rick Graber and John King did not file nominating petitions. Their terms expire Dec. 31.

Brent L. Hoylman, an incumbent, did file, so his name will appear on the ballot.

Including Hoylman, five people are running for three seats on the five-member board. Challengers are Justin Rufenacht, Todd Sterken, A.J. Genter, and Pam Skates.

Genter and Skates filed their petitions before Rufenacht and Sterken.

Archbold School Board

Phil Nofziger and Roel Galvan did not file nominating petitions for re-election, so their terms will end Dec. 31.

Karen Beck filed nominating petitions to keep her school board seat.

There is only one challenger for the two seats. Skeat Hug filed to challenge for a seat on the board.

Tyson Stuckey, a board member, was appointed to the board to fill a seat after John Downey, Archbold, opted not to seek re-election at the end of his term and no one else filed to run.

Stuckey must now run for election. He filed the necessary paperwork, so his name will appear on the ballot.

With three candidates filed and four seats available, there are two options for the school board.

As happened with Stuckey, the board could appoint someone to fill an open seat at the beginning of the year.

But there is also the possibility of write-in candidates.

Liz Stuart, deputy director of the Fulton County Board of Elections, said anyone seeking to run as a write-in candidate must file a single form stating their intent to run as a write-in candidate by 4 pm, Monday, Aug. 23, and pay the filing fee.

If only one write-in candi- date files an intent form and gets at least one vote, the person will be elected to the board.


All three incumbent members of Archbold Village Council– Vaughn Bentz, Chad Kern, and Brad Short– filed nominating petitions. No challengers filed.

Kern was appointed in April 2020 after Drew Ginn resigned to take a job out of state.

Township Trustees

Andy Brodbeck, a German Township trustee, did not file a petition for re-election. Jason Pursel, who was appointed to fill the term of Joe Short, filed nominating petitions seeking election.

A.J. Short filed petitions to appear on the ballot for a trustee spot. If there are no write-in candidates, he is assured of election.

In Franklin Township, two incumbents– Robert Keiser and Jack Rupp– filed for reelection. No other candidates filed.

The same situation is found in Clinton Township, where incumbents Rick Frey and Ivan Hite filed petitions and will appear on the ballot. No other candidates filed.

The Gorham Township Trustees race will be competitive, with five people filing for two seats. Incumbents Trevor Hibbard and William G. McKinney filed petitions, along with Dennis E. Miller, Jason J. Simon, and Brian E. Towers.

Henry County

In Ridgeville Township, Henry County, incumbent Carlos Grieser filed for re-election. Charles A. Haines Jr., a current trustee, did not. Mark Lange filed to run for a seat.

In Freedom Township, Henry County, incumbents Jeff Buchhop and Alan Damman filed for re-election.