Archbold, OH
Partly cloudy
Partly cloudy

Money Returned To ConAgra By Village Council

Archbold Village Council voted at its Monday, Jan. 17 meeting to return $49,700 to ConAgra for a tax abatement plan that no longer benefits the company.

Dennis Howell, Archbold village administrator, said the village had a tax abatement agreement with ConAgra that provided the company with savings on its tangible personal property taxes.

Tangible personal property taxes were paid by business and industry on inventory and machinery. The Ohio legislature changed the tax law in 2006, doing away with personal property taxes. They were phased out over a three-year period.

The contract with ConAgra required it to make contributions to the Village of Archbold and the Fulton County Community Improvement Corporation, among others.

With personal property taxes eliminated, the company was not receiving a benefit from the abatement agreement, but was still required to make contributions.

Howell said an agreement could not be reached with all parties to declare the abatement agreement contract null and void, so council opt- (Continued from first page) ed to return ConAgra’s contributions to Archbold.

Council also agreed to continue an agreement between ConAgra and the village for reduced water rates.

The company is the largest village customer of water and wastewater services. The agreement has not changed since 2007. Housing Council

Councilmen Vaughn Bentz and Kevin Eicher were appointed to the Community Reinvestment Area Housing Council.

Council opted to form the council to comply with state rules for tax abatement agreements under the Community Reinvestment Area formula.

Agreements under the CRA or through the Enterprise Zone law must be reviewed yearly.

Council had been having CRA agreements reviewed by the village Tax Incentive Review Committee, established to review Enterprise Zone agreements.

The council is made up of seven persons. Two are chosen by Jim Wyse, Archbold mayor.

Wyse chose himself and Melanie Nagel, former assistant Archbold village administrator.

The village planning commission picks one. It named Christine Ziegler, treasurer of the Archbold Area School District.

Bentz and Eicher make five. The five members choose two more from the public.

Council also appointed four persons to the village records commission. The commission needs to make changes in the records retention policy to allow for storing documents electronically.

Named were Howell, acting as a representative of the mayor; Kathy Rupp, village finance director; Mark Hagans, village legal counsel; and Deb Volkman, village administrative assistant. Transfers

Council agreed to transfer $40,000 from the general fund to the cemetery fund. The money will pay to operate the cemetery.

Also approved was the transfer of $100,000 from the income tax fund to the capital projects fund.

All councilmen were present, and all votes were unanimous.

A special council meeting was Tuesday, Jan. 18.

The next regular meeting is Monday, Feb. 7, 7 pm, in council chambers.–David Pugh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *