Archbold, OH
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Local Polls Closed For Spring Election

Melanie Gilders, director of the Fulton County Board of Elections, said voters in western Fulton County will not be going to the polls for the Tuesday, May 7 Ohio special election.

There are five places within the county where voters will cast ballots: the village of Metamora, Amboy and Fulton townships, and the Swanton school district.

Voters in Swanton face two ballot questions.

There are no candidates on the ballot, Gilders said.

She said state and federal partisan candidates appear on primary ballots for a spring primary election during even-number years.

Locally, because village offices are non-partisan, they do not appear on primary ballots.

In the city of Wauseon, there is a provision for a runoff election in the spring if a certain number of candidates file nominating petitions.

If there are no candidates on a spring election ballot, it is referred to as a special election.

In Henry County, the only voters who will go to the polls Tuesday are in the six precincts in the city of Napoleon, where voters will decide a levy question.