Archbold, OH
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Lima CC Wins Division III State Boys Basketball Championship

Lima Central Catholic won its first state boys basketball title, Saturday, March 27, defeating Orrville (21-6) 60- 57 in the Division III championship game.

It was also the final game for Bob Seggerson, LCC head coach.

At the post-game press conference, Seggerson said he was retiring after 32 years at the school. He has more than 500 career wins.

The Thunderbirds (23-4) were the Bowling Green regional champions, in which Archbold was a semifinalist.

It was LCC’s first trip to the state boys basketball tournament since 2000 and the sixth time in school history the Thunderbirds made it to the Final Four.

Previously, LCC’s best showings were in 1989 and 1994, when the Thunderbirds finished as state runners up.

It was the fifth appearance in the state tournament for Orrville. The Red Riders won the state title in 1996, 1995, and 1992.

LCC defeated three Top 10 teams, Liberty-Benton (1), Plymouth (4), and Ottawa- Glandorf (10), on the road to the state championship.

All four teams in the D-III Final Four– LCC, Orrville, Columbus Bishop Ready, and Chesapeake– were unranked at the end of the regular season.

LCC beat Chesapeake (21- 5) 59-48 and Orrville defeated Columbus Bishop Ready (19-7) 50-48 in the state semifinals to advance to the final.

Div. IV

Dayton Jefferson Township (17-10) defeated Newark Catholic (25-2) 59-52 in the Div. IV final, Saturday, March 27.

Newark Catholic beat unranked Ottawa Hills (24-2) 48-36 in the semifinals, while Dayton Jefferson Township beat unranked Bedford St. Peter Chanel (16-12) 81-44.

It was Dayton Jefferson Township’s first D-IV state title since 1998 and its third in school history. The Broncos were ranked seventh at the end of the regular season.

Newark Catholic was ranked number one in Div. IV. Its coach, Drew Meister, was the D-IV Coach of the Year.

Div. II

Dayton Dunbar (25-3) handed Port Clinton its first loss of the season, Saturday, March 27.

Unfortunately for PC, it was the state tournament final.

Dunbar won the state final 64-50, leaving fourth-ranked Port Clinton with a 26-1 season record.

It was the third state championship in five years and fourth in school history for Dayton Dunbar, who was ranked second in D-II at the end of the regular season.

Port Clinton, ranked fourth, advanced past the district tournament for the first time since 1943. It was the first state appearance in school history for the Redskins.

To make it to the final, Dunbar defeated sixthranked Cleveland Benedictine (22-5) 69-62 in their state semifinal, while Port Clinton defeated unranked Zanesville (17-7) 51-50.

Div. I

Massillon Jackson (25-2) beat ninth-ranked Cincinnati Archbishop Moeller (22- 5) 57-34 to win the D-I title, Saturday, March 27.

The 13th-ranked Polar Bears handed second-ranked Gahanna Lincoln (26-1) its first loss of the season, 62- 50, in their state semifinal, while Moeller beat fifthranked Mentor (23-4) 66-59 in their semifinal.


The first creamery to make large quantities of butter opened in Orange County, New York, in 1856.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *