Archbold, OH
Mostly cloudy
Mostly cloudy

Breaking News: Garage Sale Correction

Gorham-Fayette Elementary Is School Of Promise

The Franklin Elementary School, part of the Gorham- Fayette School District, was one of two Fulton County schools named "Schools of Promise," by the Ohio Department of Education.

York Elementary, part of the Pike-Delta-York school district, was the second. Both schools were recognized for the first time.

However, with completion of the new Gorham-Fayette school building, the Franklin Elementary School was closed and students moved into the new structure south of Fayette.

The Schools of Promise program recognizes schools across Ohio that demonstrate high achievement in reading and mathematics for all groups of students, despite the fact that 40% or more of the students come from low-income backgrounds.

For Gorham-Fayette schools, 44% of the student body comes from "economically disadvantaged" backgrounds. The number for the PDY district is 40%.

In all, there were 146 Schools of Promise across Ohio.

Susan Tave Zelman, state superintendent of public instruction, said, "No one can deny the tremendous impact that poverty can have on student achievement.

"However, our Schools of Promise demonstrate that committed school building leadership and a positive culture can help all students succeed."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *