Archbold, OH

Fulton County United Way Sets $320,000 Goal

Programs operated by 32 Fulton County agencies will benefi t from funds collected by the 2008 county United Way campaign. The goal for this year is $320,000, down $20,000 from the 2007 goal of $340,000.

The county agencies are divided into four partner groups. The Nurturing Strong Communities group includes the American Red Cross, Community Care Program, Fine Arts Council, First Call for Help/2-1- 1, Four County Family Center, Hands of Grace, Retired and Seniors Volunteer Program, and Shalom Ministries.

The Helping Kids Succeed group includes Big Brothers/ Big Sisters, Boy Scouts, Evergreen Youth Association, Fulton County Health Department, Girl Scouts, “Pack” to School Program, and Pettisville School Foundation Community Development.

Included in the Promoting Health And Well-Being group are the Cancer Care Program, Centennial Therapeutic Riding Center, Center for Child and Family Advocacy, Community Pregnancy Center, Hospice of Fulton/Williams Counties, Lutheran Social Services, Recovery Service of Northwest Ohio, and Women and Family Services.

The Fostering Self-Suffi- ciency group includes the Alano Club, Delta Community Outreach, FamilyWize Prescription Cards (new this year), Habitat for Humanity (new this year), Legal Aid of Western Ohio, Northwest Ohio Community Action, Salvation Army, Triangular Processing, and Wauseon FISH.

The agencies offer help and support to residents of Fulton County in many ways throughout the year.


Kent Roth, Archbold, continues as UW board president, and Peggy Volkman, Wauseon, returns as the UW first vicepresident. Manette Seady, Delta, is the second vice-president. She replaces Kathy Bechstein, Pettisville, who is now the UW treasurer. Linda Lucas, Fayette, is the secretary.

Tom Spiess, Fayette, has returned to the board, and Kathy Stockman, Wauseon, is a new member. Also representing Wauseon is returnee, Larry Restivo.

Continuing representatives are Mark Hagans and Garrett Tinsman, Archbold, and Jim McBride and Frank Wilton, Delta.

Gina Saaf continues as executive director of the county UW.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *