Archbold, OH

FFA News

Hannah Beck, left, 2007-2008 FFA sweetheart, with Katie Weber, new 2008-2009 FFA sweetheart.-  courtesy photo

Hannah Beck, left, 2007-2008 FFA sweetheart, with Katie Weber, new 2008-2009 FFA sweetheart.- courtesy photo

The Pettisville FFA chapter held its 58th annual FFA banquet, Thursday, March 27. Awards were presented, a new sweetheart was crowned, and 2008-09 officers were inducted.

Laura Bruner, a 2005 PHS graduate, was the speaker. She talked about her trip to Brazil and Costa Rica. She won the Costa Rica trip through the FFA and went through the Ohio State University for the Brazil trip.

Greenhand and chapter FFA degree recipients were recognized. The Star Greenhand award went to Emily Herring. Star Chapter awards went to Vicki Nofziger and Lynae Fry.

Michael Lane and Brian Short became honorary members. Principals, school superintendents, farmers, business people, and others who support the FFA and agriculture education may be elected to this membership.

The Pettisville FFA Alumni Association awarded sophomores competing in proficiency areas. Given awards were Rosy Coronado, Ashley Eicher, Lynae Fry, Brandon Hamilton, Erica King, and Charlie Nofziger.

Also recognized were members who placed in the district for proficiency awards: John Bruner, Bryce Stilwill, Austin Borton, Lucas Nofziger, Bryce Rufenacht, Rebekah Meller, Tim Spiess, and Vicki Nofziger.

Krista Spiess was recognized as the only top career development event performer who will receive a pin. To receive a pin the team has to have placed in the top three or the individual member has to be in the top four in district competitions or in the top 10 in the state.

She placed third in District 1 Beginning Prepared CDE.

Dylan Weirauch was recognized as the winner of the pest hunt for collecting the most points out of a total of 10,820. Ten members participated.

Top fruit salesmen were Rebekah Meller, Vicki Nofziger, Jerid Stine, and Lucas Nofziger.

Tim Spiess received the records and accounting award, which goes to the member who practices good analysis, recordkeeping, and organizational skills.

Harris King received the scholar award, given to a junior or senior who has the highest grade point average.

The alumni senior scholarship was given to Luke Short. Jordan Beck received the alumni college scholarship.

The Ron Rupp Leadership Award, given to a junior or a senior, went to Josh Bruner.

Tim Spiess and Lucas Nofziger were awarded the Junior Achievement award. The Dekalb agricultural accomplishment award was given to Josh Bruner. These awards go to a junior and senior who have a high score in leadership, scholarship, and the SAE program.

Lucas Nofziger recognized top point performers. There were 34 winners. The winners scored leadership points in the top 60% of their class.

The new chapter sweetheart is Katie Weber. Last year’s sweetheart was Hannah Beck.

Five new and two reelected officers were inducted: Rachel Fry, president; Ashley Eicher, vice president; Rebekah Meller, secretary; Tim Spiess, treasurer; Mackenzie Nofziger, reporter; Lynae Fry, sentinel; Lucas Nofziger, student advisor.

Assistant officers are Hailey Randolph, Emily Herring, Torin Blosser, Rosy Coronado, and Vicki Nofziger. – Meckenzie Nofziger, news reporter

—— Talent works, genius creates.- Robert A. Schumann

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *