2014-06-25 / Front Page

Twelve Chosen For AHS Athletic Hall Of Fame

Twelve persons will be inducted into the Archbold High School Athletic Hall of Fame in 2014.

They include Jum Grime, ‘19; Bob Fraas, ‘60; Gene Bridges, ‘62; Tim Kauzlick, ‘78; Brian Ziegler, ‘85; Kelly Strickler, ‘86; Erin Short, ‘90; Jason Forward, ‘95; Jeff Forward, ‘95; Kelly Overmier, ‘96; Joe Furko, coach, 1969- 2004; and Ron Dilbone, coachcontributor, 1959-2004.

Inductees are chosen by the Archbold Rotary Club, which started the Athletic Hall of Fame in 2004.

The recipients will be honored at the 2014 Hall of Fame Banquet, Saturday, Sept. 27.

Past Inductees

Members of the inaugural class in 2004 were Bill Hollingshead, John Jimenez, Larry Holland, John Fraas, Jerry Zuver, Cathy (Rupp) Gordon, Kim (Bosco) Ginn, Andy Peterson, Char Sharp, and Bill Arthur.

The second class of inductees in 2006 included Jack Arthur, Jody Blose, Deb Fedderke, Chuck Forward, Tim Grieser, Art Kleck, Roger Schantz, Dale Schlatter, Steve Schnitkey, and Barb Short.

The third class, in 2008, included Jacob Spengler, Mike Walker, Lowell Spiess, Paul Yoder, Pete Seiler, Steve Rettig, Bruce Arthur, Jill Schnitkey, Joe Wyse, and Rachel Sauder Kinsman.

The fourth class, in 2011, included Mervin Farber, Larry Christy, John Miller, John Young, Neil Spengler, Roger Springer, Dave Rychener, Dave Walker, Kelly (Short) Tesar, and Jodi (Miller) Walker.


Athletes selected for the Athletic Hall of Fame are selected on the following criteria: must be at least 15 years beyond graduation; the number of letters won; team success; and individual excellence.

Return to top